top of page

REIKI: What is it and why do we love it?

Do you ever feel like your energy is ‘off’ or that your body holds onto or stores away emotions and negativity and all the meditation and mindfulness in the world just isn’t working for you?

This is where Reiki can help …

So what is it? What can it do for you?

Let me break down a centuries old practice…


Rei – Universal Ki – Life force

To put it simply, Reiki is a form of energy healing, a non invasive technique that involves ‘laying hands’ on or over the body and working with the 7 main chakras in the body to shift stagnant or negative energy or address emotion disharmony that you may be feeling and just can’t shake.

Energy is at the core of everybody and everything, it is the essential unifying element for the universe, therefore Reiki has no true founder, although it is believed that Japanese Doctor, Mikao Usui recognized and documented it at the turn of the 20th century after going on a self discovery retreat where Reiki came to him and the symbols of reiki presented themselves to him on the last day of a 21 day fast.

Although there are many Reiki symbols that can be used as part of a reiki healing, there are 5 main ones that are most commonly used during a reiki healing:

1. Cho Ku Rei (Power)

2. Sei Hei Ki (Emotion)

3. Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen (Distance)

4. Dai Ko Myo (Master)

5. Raku (Grounding)


Reiki follows 5 simple principles for an emotionally and energetically healthier life which we should, ideally be following and practicing in our daily lives:

1. Do Not be angry

2. Do not worry

3. Be grateful

4. Work with diligence

5. Be kind to every living thing

Because we come from and are made up of energy, we are and always will be a part of Universal Life Force Energy receiving a Reiki healing is more like getting re-attuned to who you are and what you feel.

It’s important to remember that when receiving a Reiki healing or attunement:

1. You’re purposefully reconnecting with the Universal Energy

2. The natural inclination of the Universal Energy is to flow through you and by doing so will cleanse your energy

3. As a recipient you must be prepared to go through a spiritual detox.

Think of a dietary detox, if you integrate healthier foods into your diet and your system is not used to that kind of sustenance then it will likely react as it starts to expel the toxins that you’ve accumulated over time and you may not feel well but you know that you’re taking positive steps to look after your body and you’ll feel amazing in the long run. The same applies to Reiki, but be prepared to feel all the feels though as you work your way through what’s holding you back.


We have a genuine love for people, love making you feel your best self and do everything in salon and in life with the very best intentions. In some way we’ve been following the 5 reiki principles daily without even realising.

Here at Self Love Lounge we’re all about encouraging you to love yourself, piece by beautiful piece. Forever learning and growing we’ve explored the concept of self love, what it is, means and how to practice it to reach the ultimate goal of loving ourselves and our lives. We’ve tried everything from meditation, visualisation, circular breathing and setting intentions, but what is so amazing about Reiki is that it does all of these things, but on a deeper, more spiritual level. It treats you as a whole!

Keep an open mind and your eyes peeled We’ll be sharing a lot more soon and we can’t wait...

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page